About Hadhramout University



Hadhramout University was Founded by the Republican Decree No. (45) of 1993. Its main campus is located in Mukalla City, the capital of Hadhramout Governorate. It currently has several faculties in Mukalla, Ghaydhah in Al Mahrah Governorate, and Socotra Island.

The bachelor’s degree program began in the academic year 1995-1996 with the opening of three faculties, Engineering and Petroleum, Women’s Faculty, and Education Faculty – Seiyun. In the academic year 2019-2020, the number of faculties reached fifteen.

In addition to the faculties, the university also has five research centers, an advisory center, and several service centers. The university also has training centers such as; a university hospital, a family medicine center, and a university kindergarten.

The total number of students enrolled in the academic year 2017-2018 was 14,387 male and female students, and the total number of graduates until the academic year 2016-2017 was 27,068 male and female students.

The total number of staff members and their assistants in the academic year 2017-2018 was 809. The university works to send teaching assistants to various universities, where the number of those sent abroad is 228 to obtain master’s and doctoral degrees.

The master’s degree program began in the academic year 2001-2002. The number of master’s programs currently stands at 44. The number of students enrolled in the academic year 2017-2018 was 786, and 362 graduated from it until the academic year 2016-2017. The doctoral program began in the academic year 2014-2015.

The university is a member of the Arab Universities Union and the Islamic World Universities Union. The university president was elected at the fiftieth session of the union’s conference as a member of the union’s executive office.


The number of faculties is 15, and the number of scientific departments is 62.

Since its establishment, the university has worked to keep abreast with modern developments in the field of quality. In 2011, the Academic Development and Quality Assurance Center was established, which worked to develop the capabilities of staff members in various fields related to the teaching and research process, through the organization of workshops and training courses. During the past five years, 101 training courses were organized targeting about 3,535 staff members and their assistants, and each member participated in an average of 6 training courses. The center also organized 26 workshops


To be regionally distinctive in learning outcomes, research and community development.


Providing distinctive academic programs and researches that contribute to quality learning, knowledge production and community development through a motivating environment for learning and creativity. In addition to, the adoption of quality standards and effective partnerships.


    1. To achieve excellence at the national level in teaching and developing sciences and technology transfer.
    2. To achieve quality standards and academic accreditation for University programs.
    3. To bring the excellent academic competencies in all scientific departments.
    4. To raise the scientific publication to the international recognized standards.
    5. To gain leadership in the fields of oil sciences, marine biology, bees, palm trees, medicinal plants and clay architecture.

First: Institutional Accreditation:

HU concluded the Academic Programs Self-Evaluation Agreement with the Academic Accreditation and Quality Assurance Council in 2013, which examined the self-evaluation in accordance with the standards of the Council.

Second: Program Accreditation:

The faculty quality committees have evaluated and developed their academic programmes in accordance with the Academic Accreditation and Quality Assurance Council guide and Standards as well as with the use of international organizations in the academic accreditation field, and the identification of six reference universities for each programme.

Third: Availability of curriculum specifications:

All Academic Program Learning Outcomes are covered to meet the level of the degree awarded, and teaching and evaluation strategies closely related to the learning outcomes that are available in the curricula.

Fourth: Students Affairs:

The University adheres to the Unified System for Student Affairs in Yemeni Universities, issued by the Prime Minister’s decision. Admission to the University is announced annually through the University’s website and online media sites and the registration process is electronically from any place. During the course of admission, the student is handed over the Coordination and Admission guide.

Fifth: University Study System :

First degree (B.A )

It depends on the compulsory attendance system, and there is a special faculty for the open education system according to the regulations of the Higher Education and Scientific Research Ministry.

University study is based on the semesters system:

  • The University study is based on study plans implemented by the scientific departments and endorsed by the University Council at the recommendation of the Faculties councils. These plans indicate the courses and their distribution to the studying levels, their classes, the number of hours allocated to each course and the department that teaches them.
  • The study plans consist of Compulsory semester courses, and may contain a maximum of over four elective courses.
  • The study plan is structured into documents containing the detailed terms of each course and specifying the number of weekly hours of theoretical lectures, panel discussions, practical lessons, types of course activities associated with the course, calendar methods and basic references.
  • Types of B.A courses :
    1. University requirements
    2. Faculty requirements
    3. Requirements of scientific departments


The total weekly minimum study hours per semester are 18 hours and  maximum of 24 hours per semester.

The duration of study at the University for the bachelor degree is as follows:

  • Four years (eight semesters) in faculties of Nursing, Science, Arts, education, Law, Administrative sciences, Computers & Information Technology, Environmental Sciences & Marine Biology, applied sciences and Women .
  • Five years (ten semesters) in the Engineering and Petroleum faculty.
  • Six years (twelve semesters) in medicine and clinical pharmacy at the Medicine and Health Sciences faculty.


Maximum master’s term is six semesters.

Minimum master’s term is four semesters (30 hours approved).

The master’s thesis is prepared by the student and is calculated at 6 approved hours.

The general student estimate is calculated on a cumulative basis in both the courses and the letter .

The first year of the student is a preliminary year (studying courses in accordance with the programme plan ), and the other year is the year of scientific research (scientific letter).

The programme plan  is found in the Directory of post graduate Programmes and on the HU website.


Maximum post-master’s doctoral term (8) semesters.
Minimum post-master’s doctorate duration (6 semesters (30 certified hours)).
A doctoral dissertation prepared by the student after he or she has passed the examination and is calculated at 12 certified hours.
The first year of the student is the preliminary year (he attendes courses in accordance with the program plan) and the other year is the year of scientific research (the dissertation).

Each program plan is found in the Directory of post graduate Programmes and on the HU  website.